NAS Regional Director Change

National Audubon Society Logo

Chapters are represented on the National Audubon Board of Directors by individuals known as “regional directors.” Ohio is part of Audubon’s Mississippi Flyway – North region, and our regional director currently is Bill Heck. Bill is past president of both Audubon Miami Valley and more recently Columbus Audubon; he currently resides in Columbus.

Regional directors serve three-year terms and are limited to two consecutive terms. Bill was elected in 2014 and started his first term in January, 2015. He was re-elected in 2017 for the term starting in 2018. This means that he is now concluding his second and last term.

Bill’s successor will be Erin Giese, who ran unopposed for the regional director position and will start her first term in February, 2021. Erin hails from Green Bay, WI, where she is president of the Northeastern Wisconsin Audubon Society and also serves as the adviser of the Green Bay Audubon Student Conservation Chapter (University of Wisconsin, Green Bay).